top of page
Search

Is there a God?

Updated: Dec 15, 2022

I don't mean to offend anyone by my title. Just marketing tactics! Religion has been an avid interest of mine, not because I am religious but because of how religion as a whole affects our society, our choices and our culture. This might be a long read, but I hope you all might gain some knowledge on my point of view on things.


I moved to a local high school called Colegio de San Agustin located in Dasmariñas village, Makati City, (CSA for short) after being in an International school for the primary part of my education. The change in atmosphere, culture and diversity was a massive shift for me and ultimately resulted in the 2 weeks of summer class after freshman year that I had to endure for science. I had to adjust to the teaching styles and educational system of the Philippines. There were many differences; like having to stand up to recite, attending flag ceremonies in the mornings of the first Monday of every month and being present during masses that were being held basically every week. What intrigued me the most was that I had a subject called Christian Living Education (CLE). When I had gone to British School Manila (located in Fort Bonifacio) we were taught to have basic knowledge in all religions, that is why our subject was called R.E, or religious education. I had never really identified myself with a single religion because my family was not very devoted, so I did not dread attending mass at church every Sunday and I stopped praying before bed when I surpassed being a toddler. During our first CLE class I did not make the sign of the cross, neither did I participate in any of the prayers, I just stood quietly in front of my seat observing everyone. After the prayer had finished, my new teacher asked me why I didn't follow. In that moment, I had wanted so badly to take back what I did because my goal was not to be the odd one out. It was never my intention to be the unpopular opinion and in that moment, I knew that however I decide to answer this question would affect me for the rest of my life. Fortunately, I was so confident in myself, so confident in my own values, I replied stating I had no religion without any remorse or regret. That was the first time I made the decision to assume being a non-believer.


Now, where am I going with this? I certainly don't want to condemn anyone for having a religion. I also don't want to offend, but this is my brutal, honest opinion.


If God made this world and intended it to be a place wherein good thrives and evil is deserted, then why do we have life-threatening problems such as global warming, poverty and corrupt senate-elects? Most people say it is because God wants to teach us that before salvation you must go through hardships to really understand redemption. I just don't believe that the very person who created our existence only did so to put us through pain and strife, and then grant us peace only during the after-life. That is not a loving God to me, it is a cruel one.


On our birth certificate, we are to inherit our parent's religion and grow up living through those customs. Does that not defeat the purpose in belief? One must choose to believe, and then follow. It should not be the other way around. To mix the chronological order of this means that they are just blind followers or followers that are not knowledgeable enough. Although, kids are just kids and it is easy to teach a child, who has yet to discover the many questions of the world. I have always grown up thinking that as my own person, I must make the decisions when it comes to affairs that include my well-being, the things I believe in and the morals I follow. From as young as I can remember, my father had always taught me to be my own individual, to take the information I have learned and to interpret it in my own way so that I would be able to not only speak for myself, but to also take action under my own decisions. After that day, I always felt the constant, sly persuasions of each of my CLE teachers trying to gradually force my belief. None of them could ever make me budge, though. I am incredibly stubborn and not usually proud of this trait but in this circumstance, I'm glad I was. This decision did not end up with me being disrespectful to the people in my school who were Catholic. I am committed to my beliefs, but I have no control over other people and their beliefs. I kept my silence during prayers, abided by the different religious occasions held and even sang along during the mass songs. I tried to be respectful in any way I could and because of this, I started to actually learn about different teachings. I gathered a basic knowledge of different religious values, sacred scriptures and golden rules. I learned to love the way each religion taught each person to just be a good person. My mindset may be different, but everyone is different, so who is to say one's point of view is superior to another's?


As of this moment in my life, I still don't believe that an almighty, omnipresent being is in control over our destinies. I believe in the presence of the universe. I believe that our auras, our wishes, our choices and our intentions will ultimately attract whatever you have given out into the world. As said by Oromis, the elf Dragon rider, in the Inheritance Cycle series by Christopher Paolini;


"it is a better world. A place where we are responsible for our own actions, where we can be kind to one another because we want to and because it is the right thing to do instead of being frightened into behaving by the threat of divine punishment. I won't tell you what to believe, Eragon. It is far better to be taught to think critically and then be allowed to make your own decisions than to have someone else's notions thrust upon you. You asked after our religion, and I have answered you true. Make of it what you will."

Coming across this quote really solidified my belief. I refuse to accept that we are only pawns, with our path already set for us by a divine power. I want to believe that we can create our own path, that we are responsible for our own actions and not swayed into a predetermined future by an external deity. Why is it that the Bible almost ridicules humans for being weak or satanic if they do not believe in God? Is our existence really deduced from our choice on whether we believe in God or not? Am I ultimately a bad person because I choose to believe in human kind rather than an invisible force of authority? Do humans even possess innate goodness? Possibly. Although, I do not believe this is so. We are capable of either being good or bad and it all depends on the person wielding the choices. There are saints but there are also sinners. Being a good person should come from choosing to be a good person. If someone only does good deeds just to be admitted to heaven, then were those deeds really just? Or were they just tickets to ensure their spot through divine judgement?


An unfortunate predicament, as life is full of questions, but no answers.

 

My second post for today!!

My mind was rambling on and on while I was at work earlier so I had to type it all up!! Hopefully this will give you guys enough things to ponder on while I brain storm for the next post. I'll probably upload in a couple more days. :3


click me for the forum post!

39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page